Trusting your own taste

It has been 5 months since we have started weaning Nadra. When I first started preparing her food, I followed Annabel Karmel’s cookbook very closely. I would planned her meal and wrote down all the ingredients needed and headed down to an organic store to make my purchase.

The thing is, the organic store that I patronized, have different vegetables and fruits stocks daily. The groceries on my list might not be available on that day and I will end up going to many organic stores just to strike the list off so I could prepare her meal as planned. It was not only time consuming, but waste of petrol too.

Ever since last month, I have stopped doing meal planning. I would just head down to the store and bought what was in stocks and then figure out what menu to cook.

So far, all my trial recipes had not fail. It was very well accepted by Nadra. FYI, it needs to pass my taste test first. I would not want to feed Nadra something I myself find tasting weird.

One menu I would like to keep is Fish & Kale Pasta. This has been Nadra’s favourite and would always ask for more. She would quickly swallow just so she could have another spoonful.

Fish & Kale Pasta
Ingredients
1 Cod Fillet
1 packet of Kale
1 clove of Garlic, diced
200g of Tomato, skinned, deseeded and chopped
Milk
1 tsp of unsalted butter
Olive Oil
1 stalk of Thyme (optional)
Water
5 tablespoon of Organic Brown Rice Pasta Stars, cooked according to manufacturer’s instruction

Methods
1. In a small skillet, place cod, butter and milk. The amount of milk should cover the cod slightly. Let it simmer until cod is thoroughly cooked through. Once cooked, remove the skin of the cod and flake the flesh, checking for bones using your fingers.
2. In another skillet, pour about 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Stir fry garlic and thyme.
3. Once mixture turned fragrant, remove thyme, add tomato and cooked till its mushy.
4. Add kale and water (approximately 200ml, you do not want to add too much water, just enough to cook the kale. Vegetables will shrink when cooked also). Bring water to boil. Once boil, lower down the fire and let it simmer.
5. Once kale has soften, add cod flakes and stir till uniform. If the mixture is too dry, add milk or boiled water.
6. Lastly add cooked pasta and mix evenly. For younger babies, you might want to puree it first before serving.

Enjoy!

The balance portion can frozen and save for other days.

I will try my best to jot down here instead on scraps of paper, which I have the tendency of throwing away.

Hope your lil bub will enjoy simple yet tasty wholesome food. I am all for raising a healthy child.

august13 007

Leave a Reply

