Never say no to Kacang Phool

I am not a big fan of Kacang Phool. Perhaps because my parents never cook it before, I did not know what it should taste like or what a good kacang phool should taste like.

When I had my first taste of Kacang Phool, I was not able to finish it. I felt sick after a few mouthful. The lack of taste and the smell of ghee puts me off. Faiz on the other hand, LOVES it so much that he claims not mindIng having it every day!  

Needless to say, when we moved into our own home, he kept asking me to cook this dish. “It is easy! Just mash the beans, add lots of ghee. You cooked harder dishes before, this, you should be able to do with your eyes close!” Ya, right Faiz. The word “ghee” already made my stomach churn.

Faiz being Faiz, bought 2 cans of Foul Medames during one of our grocery shopping trips, thinking that will somehow spark my interest to try. Well, it did. I googled some recipes off the internet, narrowing down on my potential starting point. The recipe from Just as Delish caught my eye. It has a good blend of spices which can elevate the lack of taste of the Kacang Phool I once had. It tasted okay, definitely not bland but Faiz commented that it had too much flavor that it reminded him of Sabshuka (I have yet to taste that too!) instead.

He told me to make it simple, remove the meat and add ghee. FINE.

Below is my modification to the recipe.

  
Recipe serves 4-6 adults, depending how they love this dish.

2 cans (400 g each) Foul Medames – Mashed (Blend if you like it very fine. Faiz like it a little coarse, so I just mashed it instead)

1.5 tsp coriander powder

1 tsp cumin powder

1 tsp fennel powder

2 tsp chilli powder

1 tsp ground black pepper

3 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp ghee or salted butter (I prefer mine with salted butter)

1 cup of water

 

Blend into a paste

2 large onions

6 cloves garlic

2 tbsp of chilli paste

 

Accompaniment

6 sunny side up (Faiz fries his with more ghee! Please feel free to follow, if not, olive oil will do just fine.)

2 onions – diced (we omit cause somebody hates onions, especially if it is seen on his plate)

3 green chilies- sliced

6 small limes – halved
Instructions

Add oil into a hot pan and stir fry the blended paste until fragrant.

Add in coriander powder, cumin powder and fennel powder. Stir until well mixed and very fragrant.

Pour in mashed beans, mix it with ghee (or butter) and cook for another 5 minutes.

Add about 1 cup of water (depending on the consistency, less if you prefer thick mixture) and simmer for another 10 minutes.

Season with black pepper and salt, if required. Do go easy on the salt as the bean itself is already salty.

 

To Serve

Serve the dish in a deep plate and top up with a sunny side egg, diced onion, chilies and lime.

This dish is best accompanied with slices of toasted baguette.

  

  

His verdict? Perfect. As long as he is happy. Though I am still not a fan, I know there will always be someone who will willingly gobble it down (he did say he can eat this every day).

Leave a Reply

