Calling out

Nadra’s first word was “Abah”, the same goes for Irfan. 

I don’t know if it is because of the easy pronounciation or they are just more fond of their father. “Ummi” seemed not to be in their early vocabulary. Nadra only addressed me as “Ummi” when she was about 15months old.

Yesterday, as I was folding the laundry after putting the kids to sleep, I heard a soft calling from the room.

“Mmmama…mmmama…”

I hurried to the room and saw my little boy, already seated with arms outreach, trying to reach for me, “mmmama”.

My heart swelled. My 1 year old, calling for me. Well, not exactly “Ummi”, but Mama will do for now. Knowing who I am and what to call, are already good enough for me.

  

  

Leave a Reply

